The Cover Wars

coverwars3

We’re not shallow, really. Except on Saturdays, when the cover of a book is all that matters. Welcome to the Cover Wars!

cw 1

Janet: From the colours, style of illustration, and title font, I would hazard a guess that these stories are bowdlerized and abridged – but I bet I would have loved them when I was in elementary school. (Okay, I’d probably enjoy reading them now, too.) I wouldn’t turn to a book with this cover for drama, but I would expect light trickster tales that would leave me wanting to read more from this culture and tradition.

Steph: Bowdlerized, good word, and apt by the looks of it. This looks like a very soft, cut and cuddly version of a “tiger story” (there are a lot of them). I don’t know. I am not particularly drawn to the soft colours or the cutsey style of the art (and the Tiger’s apparent lack of joints). So I’d give this a pass. However, I am not the target audience. Parents, teachers and librarians working with sensitive children and looking for simple stories with morals and talking points – I’d say this is probably a match.

Nafiza: I like the word ‘bowdlerized’ too. The colours are soft and inviting despite the animals being potentially deadly. As a child, I would  have enjoyed reading this. As an adult, I would be far too aware of the subtext.

cw2

Janet: Not bad – not at all my thing, but it does have a certain flair. I think the cover would be more effective if the author’s name and title were consistently sized; as it is, VONNEGUT jumps out, then the jacked, then MONKEY HOUSE. The author’s name should also be spaced closer together instead of the surname being closer to the jacket than to the first name. As I said, overall this cover does not appeal to me, but as Kurt Vonnegut does have a good reputation if this book came with a warm recommendation I could be persuaded.

Steph: Yup, I like it. I really like the green! So eye catching, and a nice break from all the teal of late. Janet points out the dissonance between the design of the author’s name and the title of the house – this is probably marketing. Vonnegut is a very well known name and has to stand out. I like the font for the title, and I like the allusion to social commentary with the blazer/smoking jacket. I would read this based on the cover, but also I’d read this because it is Vonnegut.

Nafiza: I keep meaning to read Vonnegut because I’ve read books about being crazy for him and I want to know why he’s so amazing. I like the green cover and I like the jacket and I am really interested in finding out how the jacket relates to the monkey  house.

li_9781400068142_jkt_all_r1.indd

Janet: The strips of colour and the apparent texture render this cover striking. I know nothing about this author or this book, but I would pick it up and examine cover and contents more closely if I came across it, despite the all-caps.

Steph: Asian titles and red. Always playing with the red colour – I’m not sure if it’s a stereotype or if it’s a symbol within the text. Perhaps it signals the importance of nationality within the text. Anyway, that’s what I would be looking for. The texturing is nice, but the cover, overall, is kind of on the simple boring side. It looks like it’s going to be realistic, maybe historical telling of a life story. Perhaps I’d read it. I’d read the back.

Nafiza: I really like this. I like how the cover looks like a crack in the wall that the reader is being allowed to glimpse through. I also find it super interesting that the reader is being included in the “solitude” because I’m interpreting the cover as a character peering through at the world outside. So the cover firmly situates the reader with the (I’m assuming here) main character who is looking out at the world.

cw4

Janet: Fairly busy cover. Black type, sizing, and spacing (yes! Lines of text are close together, presenting a cohesive appearance) are very well done. To be very frank, it is this together with the snaking orange dragon that catches my eye. The colours mix medium tones (the roots/earth, the dragon, the tree) with paler hues (the dragon’s rider, the sky) in a way that is restful for the eye, and I like the old-time feel overall. I hope the library has a copy.

Steph: Charles Vess strikes again! I really love his art style. His imagination combined with that of Neil Gaiman are enough to rope be into purchasing and devouring this text. To the cover! The cover is nicely designed, it is a little busy with all the creatures and hints at the stories that’ll be within. I like the colours, though they are on the soft side (kind of always are with Vess and Children’s stuff) but acceptably dark enough. I mean. I’ll read it, what more can I say? ^_^

Nafiza: This promises a rollicking good ride. The colours, the anthropomorphic characters, the dragon, giant/ogre. Yeah, I’d definitely check out the back at least.

cw5

Janet: Bold without being too stark. Sizing and spacing of the type is suitable. I don’t like that the author’s name is larger than the title (I never like that), but the fonts are close enough that the visual distinction between them is not jarring. The lioness rampant suggests the time frame and type of fantasy of the stories, for those unfamiliar with Pierce’s Tortall books. The colour scheme and use of black space are effective, I think.

Steph: This reminds me so much of George R.R. Martin covers, but then, I suppose, George R.R. Martin covers are taking a cue from this kind of old fashioned cover. I like it. It’s simple and yet ornate, it is clear – these are going to be stories of this nation. Again, the author’s name is the selling feature here, so it makes sense that it’s large, but I also am not a fan. The rest of the cover is well designed and appealing though, so I’d give it a go.

Nafiza: This cover doesn’t do anything for me and I think it’s the pose of the lion/large cat/animal on there. The image is just…too macho to appeal to me. Does that make sense? Haha.

Leave a comment